Pakistan announce ICC World Cup 2023 squad: Hasan Ali replaces injured Naseem Shah, all players name

The 15-person Pakistan World Cup roster was announced on Friday, September 22. Due to a right shoulder injury he suffered during the Asia Cup 2023 Super Fours match against India, pacer Naseem Shah will miss the main event. His successor has been announced as Hasan Ali. Hasan last participated in an ODI in June 2022, and he also took part in the second Test match in Karachi against New Zealand earlier this year. The fact that Haris Rauf is back in the lineup following an injury scare in the same game is a huge boost for the top ODI team.

World Cup 2023: Pakistan squad

Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Salman Ali Agha, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim.
World Cup 2023: Pakistan squad

Inzamam-ul-Haq, the head selector, lamented the untimely removal of Shah and provided encouraging news regarding Rauf’s recovery: “Due to Naseem Shah’s tragic accident, we were compelled to make one change. We had a few injury scares at the most recent Asia Cup, but I’m happy to report that everyone is well and eager to compete for their nation in the crucial competition. Our medical panel has given me optimistic reports on Haris Rauf. At the National Cricket Academy, he has begun to (shadow) bowl and is now available for selection.

Given his prowess in the air and off the field, Shah’s absence will be greatly felt by Babar’s team. His ODI career has gotten off to a strong start, with 32 wickets taken at an average of 16.96.

Shaheen Shah Afridi, who previously served as the pace team’s lynchpin, is now supported well by Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jr., and Ali.

Additionally, Saud Shakeel, who joined Pakistan’s team for the recently finished Asia Cup, is given a spot. Shakeel has received support from PCB for his Test performances in the hopes that his success in the red-ball format will carry over to his limited-overs career.  Mohammad Nawaz, an all-around player who plays spin bowling, keeps his position; Faheem Ashraf loses it.

Usama Mir, a young legspinner, has been selected for his first World Cup match. Early in 2023, he made his New Zealand series debut.

Mohammad Haris has joined mystery spinner Abrar Ahmed and pacer Zaman Khan as the traveling reserves for Pakistan’s “Shaheens,” who won the Emerging Asia Cup 2023.

On October 6 in Hyderabad, they face the Netherlands in their opening World Cup match.

World Cup 2023: Pakistan squad


Babar Azam(C), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-Ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Saul Shakeel


Mohammad Rizwan


Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Iftikhar Ahmed, Agha Salman


Usama Mir, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Hasan Ali


Mohammad Haris, Abrar Ahmed, Zaman Khan

Related posts

Leave a Comment